Skip navigation

Finished download fedora core 5 (fc5) and install with standard installation (gnome), I think fc5 just like SuSE10 did, they have menu for Add/Remove Software, but…, in fc5 the graphical Add/Remove Software (Pirot) only want to deal with remote installation, and it make me frustation at first, ya…. because in my country it’s too cost to get adsl connection (or can’t afford it :-).
Googling, I got a bunch but………… for a Simple Answer I can’t have it….. After try and error, I have the answer.

First, Local Repository


I create my local repository in folder “/var/www/html/yum/base”. In this folder I copy:

  • the entire first CD of fc5,
  • the 2,3,4,5 CD I copy only the “.rpm” files to “/var/www/html/yum/base/Fedora/RPMS”

Second, yum configuration in folder “/etc/yum.repos.d”


I create this file “fedora-core.repo” and inside it fill in :

  • [Local-Install]
  • name=Fedora Core $releasever – $basearch
  • baseurl=file:///var/www/html/yum/base
  • enabled=1
  • gpgcheck=1
  • gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-fedora file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY

and check the others file with name like “fedora-******.repo” and inside it change :

  • …..
  • enabled=0 #disable it…!
  • …..

and NOW I can install (Add/Remove) Software using local repository….

36 Comments

  1. thank you for the nice and efficient guide. I have same problems with internet as you… thank you very much!

  2. Hey

    Superb man!

    Thank you 4 ur info!

  3. Thank god for people like you, I will be able to learn to use Linux after all.

  4. This one’s a saver. Thank you.

  5. Thanks for spreading the knowledge, I thought I would have to do yet another re-install of Linux… this time customize the software before installing

    i will try this when i get home
    thanks!!

  6. thanks mate!
    you made my headache go away..

  7. You are a big help mate.
    This guide is so GOOD

  8. Thanks a lot for the shared knowledge.
    I thought I had missed something in my installation.

  9. that was realy a great help and simple, but what about the update where it will go. is there away to download it in a directory so i don’t have to redownload each time I install the system or use it for another computer.

    thanks

  10. Thank you, I was looking for it. Am new to Linux

  11. I’ve noticed that you put repository in /var/www/html, so I tried to access it from another Linux with baseurl=http://another_linux/yum/base. This, however, raises an exception in pirut (google for it with “pirut GtkTreeIter 363 359 288”). Is there a fix for this?

  12. I have the same problem, but i’ve installed fc5 from a DVD and i’m new to fedora, so what can i do?

  13. You’re so wonderful!
    Installation is now just too fast ^^

  14. i am facing a different problem. Add/Remove Software (pirut) is opening and giveing me the option to select the packages. but when i click the update button, it gave me error as given below.

    error downloading package headers
    [Error 256] No more Mirrors to try.

    what is the use of repomd.xml file for pirut application

    please give me some information. thanks in advancs

    Selvaraju S
    Telecom Engineer,
    INDIA

  15. Wonderful solution… Thanks

  16. u r such a PRO in this kinds of this, Im in VN and have the problem about hte Internet too. But more than that i can learn so much from this.
    Thanks alot man.

  17. Thank u very much for this information.btw, I still got the same problem, does it something to do with yum?

  18. I still got the same problem after following the above instructions. However, some other link I found fixs this problem finally.
    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/redhat-fedora-linux-help/62502-problem-package-manager.html

    Maybe, It’s not only the first file –> fedora-core.repo but also the second and third files –> fedora-extras.repo, fedora-updates.repo need to be maniputated.

  19. Hi! I’ve done as you said! However, it’s not run properly. When I chose package for installing, A message box show that: “Error downloading Headers”. It’s an IOError
    Please Help me

  20. hi everyboday,iam having the same problem as dinhvy.can someone please help.thanx in advance

  21. hi !!!1
    I am really surprised when i see the Add/Remove software working in my fedora core 5
    thank you very much…
    thanks god for people like u…
    you made my headache go away..
    bye

  22. hi !!!1
    I am really surprised when i see the Add/Remove software working in my fedora core 5
    thank you very much…
    thanks god for people like u…
    you made my headache go away..
    bye bye

  23. Thank You

  24. Hola faretaste
    mekodinosad

  25. I was very thank full now i am able to install through my CD as well as from the copy of DVD
    by ADD/REMOVE PROGRAM

  26. Great. I had to install umbrello in 20 computers at Xavier Institute of Engineering. I did it just like that. You saved my time. God bless you.

  27. God Bless You

  28. I used the following to use the local CD. No file copying needed:

    [Local-Install]
    name=Fedora Core $releasever – $basearch
    baseurl=file:///media/disk
    enabled=1
    gpgcheck=0

  29. thanks.

  30. Digital Track Chart and the Digital Songs Chart. ,

  31. Сервис Failo-Obmennik.Ru хостинг файло и фото хостинг файлов, хранилище файлов. Бесплатный файлообменник и хостинг файлов. Место под хранение файлов не ограничено. Скорость передачи файлов до 1 Гб/сек. Быстрое скачивание файлов в несколько потоков. Загрузка через браузер, по FTP и нескольких файлов сразу. Храните файлы в нашем файлообменнике. файлообменник, бесплатные файлообменники, обмен файлами, передача файлов, файловый обменник, хранение файлов. Сайт failo-obmennik.ru

  32. дешевый секс по телефону украина – секс по телефону, секс знакомства с телефоном, секс игры на телефон, секс знакомства с номерами телефонов, бесплатный секс по телефону, секс по телефону бесплатно. Сайт seks-po-telefonu.org

  33. укроп для потенции – народное лечение импотенции, лечение импотенции народными средствами, импотенция методы лечения, способы лечения импотенции, препараты. Сайт lechenie-impotencii.ru

  34. магазин шин пермь – магазин шины диски, шины диски интернет магазин, шины диски интернет магазин москва, интернет магазин шины диски екатеринбург, магазин шины. Сайт magazin-diski-shiny.ru

  35. http://exnewz.ru/imgs/2012/12/14/11490.jpg

    Оппозиционер Алексей Навальный отверг обвинения в его причастности к хищению 55 млн рублей в сфере грузоперевозок. Это же вообще ад, бред же полный, прямо совсем”, – написал Навальный в своем “Твиттере”.

  36. Simply wish to say your article is as surprising. The clarity in your post is simply great and
    i could assume you are an expert on this subject.
    Fine with your permision let me to grab your feed to keep updated with forthcoming post.
    Thanks a million and please carry on the gratifying work.


3 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] Referensi: fedora core 5 – Add Remove Software ( Yum – Pirot – Local Repository ) […]

  2. By PriyayiSae.tk » K A N G E N on 26 Feb 2007 at 7:10 am

    […] Add/Remove Software (Pirut) sbenarnya ini hanyalah modifikasi dari postingan Kang Wharsojo sesama anak negri yg dulu saya jadikan rujuan ketika saya mendapati masalah “System > […]

  3. […] Referensi: fedora core 5 – Add Remove Software ( Yum – Pirot – Local Repository ) […]

Leave a Reply

